Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Radford 72

Development Squad News 2017/18

2 posts in this topic

Fixtures for the 2017/18 SPFL Development League have now been confirmed, with the new season getting under way w/c Monday 21 August. Saints open away to Hamilton, with a first home game against Partick Thistle the following week. The season runs until mid-April.


There will be no more blank weeks as Rangers, Inverness and Dunfermline have withdrawn from the league, so the 14 remaining teams (11 from Premiership, plus United, Falkirk and St Mirren) will play 26 games.

Saints U20s will be looking to improve on last season when they unfortunately finished bottom of the table. Based on previous seasons, eligible players are those born on or after 01/01/1998 but a maximum of five players of any age are permitted in the matchday squad of eighteen.

From last season, Ben Mackenzie, Aaron Comrie, Jason Kerr and Greg Hurst have stepped up to the first team squad, leaving another young group for Alec Cleland to work with, including nine new faces from the successful U17 squad: Ross Sinclair, Ben Quigley, Jack Wilson, Nathan Brown, Ciaran Brian, Euan O'Reilly, Cameron Ballantyne, Jamie McKenzie and Shaun Struthers.

garydavidson likes this

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0