Sing Me No Sad Songs

Brechiner

A good friend of mine who is a Saints supporter took me to Dundee on Saturday to see the match with Dundee FC. Since I live in Kinross but have a Dundonian mother and went to Dundee Tech as a student, I was in two minds as to where my loyalties lay but, taking into account that Dundee once beat Brechin 9-2 in the Scottish Cup and your club had been good enough to let us beat you 2-1 in 2003 on our way to the Bells Cup Final (we lost), I plumped for Saints. My friend's assurance that " I would be walking home if I didn't" swayed it.

Sitting among the Saints fans, I was treated to their choral renditions. Being a choral singer myself, I was impressed by the tightness and vigour of the performance. I was however, greatly saddened by the lyrics which could best be described as invective and concentrated on attacking social disadvantage. It occurred to me that, at a time we are considering independence, taunting fellow Scots over their misfortunes was out of place.

A choice selection included "in your Dundee slum", "Sign on, sign on with hope in your heart but you'll never get a job" and "You're goin' home to sh*g yer sister"

Was anybody watching the football, which, by the way, was pretty good. (only pretty good because I remember seeing Saints play under Wullie Ormond with John Connoly, Henry Hall and Fred Aitken among others gracing the field of what is now the central aisle of Asda).

Football is one of the greatest games in the world. Do we really have to descend into the gutter like we did on Saturday?

Comments please but wait till I put my tin hat on!

Brechiner